Pet peeve time. We have a college basketball game on the television right now. Sports broadcasters aren’t generally known to be sources of great wit or highly intelligent commentary (there are a few – ever listened to Daryl Reaugh?). But the guy commenting on this game just made the comment that sets my teeth on edge, that irks me and irritates me so very much.
He said something like “that team is having trouble scoring the basketball.”
Seems to me they’re having trouble scoring points, not basketballs. And even if we let him get away with stupid wording, of course they are having trouble scoring the basketball. What do you think they’re trying to score? Hockey pucks. Tennis balls? Badminton shuttlecocks?
Sheesh! I hate the phrase “scoring the basketball.”
Thanks. I feel better now.

