I heard it out of a liberal commentator’s mouth yesterday. The President keeps making this claim. “Appearing on NBC’s “Meet the Press” on Sunday, President Barack Obama said that he cut spending by more than $1 trillion in 2011. However, the White House Office of Management and Budget says that federal spending increased by $147 billion from fiscal 2010 to fiscal 2011.”

Let’s be clear. Reducing a planned increase in spending some number of years in the future is not cutting spending. I might want to buy a Mercedes five years from now. If I decide I can probably be okay with a Chevy instead of the Mercedes five years from now, it doesn’t do anything RIGHT NOW!

Our government is spending over a trillion dollars more than it collects every year. It has for the past four or five years (I’m too tired to do the research.) I want to quit racking up massive national debts that will burden my children and grandchildren (any day now!). That means we have to find ways to spend less money THIS YEAR, not increase our spending less many years from now (after we’re already bankrupt and wishing we had an economy as good as Greece’s).

Sheesh!

CUT SPENDING NOW!

