I really don’t want to write about the debates. After watching this one, I really don’t want to think about them. I can’t get the image of VP Biden’s grin out of my brain.

But one thing that troubles me and has troubled me for quite a while is the tendency of certain politicians to lie without hesitation or shame, relying on their apparent certainty, or citation of inappropriate sources, or their personal charms, to make us believe that it must be true. Politicians have almost become like Wikipedia, where many of us know to take it with a sizable grain of salt but others believe that if it was on the Internet, it must be true.

Anyway, for those who are interested, here are links to two articles by the Heritage Foundation, factchecking the debate on Medicare issues and on taxes and entitlements.

For the record, they scored Rep. Ryan with six true and no false statements, while Vice President Biden got one true and five false statements.

