It takes a bit to set up this story. You see, to start with, I’ve always enjoyed Broadway showtunes. I’m not sure why – it could be because when I was pretty little I watched my sister play the piano to accompany a college production of Camelot. Whatever the reason, I love Broadway musicals. My iPod is full of them – A Chorus Line, Godspell, Les Miserables, and on and on.

In 2008, we bought a new Chevy Tahoe, and it came with XM satellite radio. The connection is that XM has a Broadway Showtunes channel. Some of it is from recent musicals that I’m not as familiar with and not that interested in even after hearing the music, but a lot of the time it is filled with everything from South Pacific to 42nd Street to Rent. I don’t get to listen very much, because my commute to and from school is only 7 minutes long. From a commuting standpoint, that’s awesome, but there’s not much car radio time.

The final part of this is that my youngest son is a serious soccer player. Since he was 11, we have played competitive, select soccer. He played on teams that were based near us, but in north Texas almost all the games are played at one of two facilities that are 45 to 60 minute drives from our house. So I got used to using those long stretches in the car on Saturdays driving to and from soccer games to listen to my Showtune channel. This year, we decided not to play soccer except for school, so the drives to the games on Saturdays and Sundays came to an end. As a result, I have drastically reduced my listening to Broadway music.

What made me think of all this is that this Saturday I had a few errands to run, and I put the radio on the Broadway channel, and they were playing a lot of favorite songs. I really enjoyed listening and singing along, and it made me think about this odd connection between soccer and showtunes. I miss seeing my son play soccer, even though I now get to watch him play school soccer. He had his first varsity game Friday night, and it reminded me how much joy there can be watching your children compete. But then Saturday, I thought about how the change in his soccer playing also affected my radio habits. Guess I’d better find a way to listen to the radio more often!

 

