I haven’t forgotten about India or the faces of the day posts; I’ll get back to them soon. In the meantime, though, I saw this article about malaria. Malaria kills over 600,000 people a year, mostly in equatorial Africa, India and other Asian countries. We often saw citronella or other mosquito-repellant candles when we were out at night. We used mosquito sprays and took malaria pills every day. I can’t give blood until August 2012 because I was in a malaria zone. So malaria is a big deal.

This is major medical news – a possible malaria vaccine is being investigated. The effects of this on many of the poorer countries of the world, with the possibility of improving life expectancies, improving health, and aiding in economic development are wonderful to contemplate. Let’s all hope this proves effective in trials.

