Here it is – my ultimate comfort food. My mother was the classic 1950’s era homemaker. She always cooked breakfast for my father, every day. She cooked all our meals and made desserts for us. We rarely ate out, except on Sundays. Then we ate out for lunch, after church. Usually it was at Wyatt’s Cafeteria (along with about half of our church it seemed). We were allowed to get a dessert, and the dessert of choice for me and my father was egg custard – pie or in a bowl. My mother tried to make egg custard pies but they never quite tasted like Wyatt’s. Then one day I found the recipe on the internet, and I discovered one reason why homemade never tasted like cafeteria egg custard – the eggs! Anyway, here’s the recipe.

1 cup sugar
6 whole eggs plus 2 egg yolks
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 and 3/4 cups milk

Combine sugar, eggs, vanilla, nutmeg and salt, blending well.

Scald milk in a saucepan.

Add scalded milk to the egg mixture and whip with a whisk until well blended and foam forms on top.

Pour custard into glass baking cups. Place cups in a sheet pan with 1 to 2 inch sides. Pour hot water into the large pan ( not into the custard cups).

Bake at 450 degrees for 30 to 40 minutes until center is set. Cool to room temperature. Refrigerate.

20111223-084342.jpg

