Update: Epic failure this time. I don’t think it was humidity – I got in a hurry because we had to go to the play, so I rushed it and didn’t beat it quite long enough. I ended up with chewy glob of divinity-like candy. Oh well.

Here it is. The final exam of candy making. The last of my cooking orgy. I think this was my mother’s favorite. Sherry, do you know? Anyway, subject to appropriate atmospheric humidity, here goes the divinity effort. Company arrives in two hours, so I’ve got no margin for error.

3 cups sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
1/2 cup water
2 egg whites
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 – 2 cups pecans

Combine sugar, corn syrup, water, and salt in pan. Heat to 260 degrees. Pour in fine stream over stiffly beaten egg whites, beating constantly with electric mixer. Add vanilla and continue beating until stiff.

Remove beater, add nuts, and beat with a wooden spoon until candy loses its gloss and a small amount dropped on wax paper holds it’s shape. (This is the trickiest part!) using teaspoons, drop onto wax paper.

20111223-162803.jpg

