I’ll start my recipes with a basic but goody. This was the first treat of this Christmas season – I always make a double batch, and it lasts about a week around our house.

4 tablespoons margarine
1.5 teaspoons Lawry’s seasoned salt
1 tablespoon tobasco sauce
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
4+ cups Rice Chex
4+ cups Corn Chex
1 cup pretzels
1 cup peanuts

Melt the margarine (I use the microwave) in a bowl and add the seasoned salt, tobasco and Worcestershire sauce to it and stir well. In a gallon zip lock bag, mix the cereals, pretzels, and peanuts by shaking well (small children are good at this). Pour the margarine and sauce mix into the bag of cereal, seal, and shake to mix. Pour contents into a large microwave safe bowl and microwave for 6 minutes at high power, stopping every two minutes to stir. Pour onto paper towels to dry and cool, and store in a clean zip lock bag.

We find this pretty addictive. One change this year is we have had to leave out the peanuts because of certain medical reasons. I never ate the peanuts, so it’s okay with me.

